IPL 2023 Playoffs schedule – All you need to know

IPL 2023 Playoffs: Schedule & Info

The qualification for the IPL 2023 playoffs has been confirmed, with Gujarat Titans, Chennai Super Kings, Lucknow Super Giants, and Mumbai Indians securing their spots. Here is the updated playoff schedule.

The final day of the IPL 2023 league phase was filled with anticipation as Mumbai Indians clinched the last playoff berth. They joined Gujarat Titans, Chennai Super Kings, and Lucknow Super Giants in the playoffs. The action kicked off on Sunday with Mumbai Indians defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad by eight wickets at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. This victory propelled them to the fourth position, pushing Royal Challengers Bangalore down to fifth. Royal Challengers Bangalore needed a win against Gujarat Titans in the final league match to dislodge Mumbai Indians from the playoffs, but their loss relegated them to sixth place.

In pursuit of a target of 201 runs, Mumbai Indians reached 201/2 in 18 overs, courtesy of an unbeaten century by Cameron Green, who scored 100 runs off 47 balls. The captain, Rohit Sharma also changed the pace with a crucial half-century, smashing 56 runs off 37 deliveries. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mayank Dagar claimed one wicket each for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Initially, Sunrisers Hyderabad posted a total of 200/5 in 20 overs, thanks to impressive batting performances from Mayank Agarwal and Vivrant Sharma. Mayank scored 83 runs off 46 balls, while Vivrant slammed 69 off 47 deliveries. Akash Madhwal emerged as the star bowler for Mumbai Indians, taking four wickets.

Mumbai Indians’ victory, combined with unfavorable weather conditions in Bengaluru, left Royal Challengers Bangalore fans disheartened. However, the rain eventually subsided, and the match commenced with Virat Kohli, the opener for Royal Challengers Bangalore, unleashing a vintage unbeaten century. Kohli smashed an unbeaten 101 runs off 61 balls, helping Royal Challengers Bangalore set a target of 198 runs by posting 197/5 in 20 overs.

Noor Ahmad was in good form for Gujarat Titans, claiming two dismissals. In the chase for 198 runs, Gujarat Titans had their own centurion in Shubman Gill, who blasted an impressive 104* runs off 52 deliveries, guiding his team to a six-wicket victory. Mohammed Siraj took two wickets for Royal Challengers Bangalore.

After the Gujarat Titans’ win, the team captained by Hardik Pandya did conclude the league phase being at the top of the table scoring 20 points from the overall 14 matches. Chennai Super Kings secured the second position with 17 points, tied with Lucknow Super Giants. Mumbai Indians claimed the fourth spot with 16 points. Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore both finished with 14 points, but Rajasthan Royals secured fifth place while Royal Challengers Bangalore settled for sixth.

Kolkata Knight Riders finished the season in seventh position with 12 points, followed by Punjab Kings (12), Delhi Capitals (10), and Sunrisers Hyderabad (8) at the bottom of the table.

Here’s the complete IPL 2023 Playoffs schedule:

QUALIFIER 1 – Gujarat Titans vs Chennai Super Kings – May 23rd, Tuesday – 7:30 PM IST, MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

ELIMINATOR – Lucknow Super Giants vs Mumbai Indians – May 24th, Wednesday – 7:30 PM IST, MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

QUALIFIER 2 – Loser of Qualifier 1 vs winner of Eliminator – May 26th, Friday – 7:30 PM IST, Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

FINAL – Winner of Qualifier 1 vs Winner of Qualifier 2 – May 28th, Sunday – 7:30 PM IST, Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

Stay tuned with the latest updates with Badshah News!